Ref.  Hawaii State

Office of Planning

Moku or district is a land division that sections off portions of each island. After the Great Mahele, the islands were divided into districts. Prior to this, land was sacred to all and all who lived on the land used the land. However, the influence of the foreigners changed this system and land was divided up and deeded to land owners. Today, these divisions of land are still recognized. (def. from Pukui/Elbert Hawaiian Dictionary 1986)


On the island of O’ahu, there are six districts; Honolulu or Kona, Ko’olau Loa, Ko’olau Poko, Wahiawa, Wai’anae, and ‘Ewa.

MOKU Design Challenge 2018